Vienna Christmas Markets: What Is Free To Enjoy
Vienna's Christmas markets open in early November. Here is what is confirmed free, where entry is not stated, that food, drink and goods at stalls are paid, and which free walking tours start near the markets.
Short answer
The Schönbrunn Palace market is the only one confirmed free to enter, on its event page, and runs 6 November 2026 to 6 January 2027. The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt runs 13 November to 26 December 2026, and no official page states its entry rule. For other markets, including Am Hof, Karlsplatz Art Advent, Belvedere, and Freyung, the entry rule is likewise not stated. Food, drink and goods at stalls are paid.
Vienna's Christmas markets open from 6 November 2026, and by mid-November markets are running across the city's central squares and palace forecourts. The Schönbrunn Palace market is the only one confirmed free to enter, per the Schönbrunn event page; for every other market, entry is not stated. Food, drink and goods at the stalls are paid.

Are Vienna Christmas Markets Free To Enter?
The Schönbrunn Palace market states free entrance on its own event page. The Vienna Tourist Board's market listing gives dates but no entry rule for the Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt, Am Hof, Karlsplatz Art Advent, Belvedere K&K, Freyung, and Spittelberg markets. You pay only for food, drink, and goods at the stalls. A free walk worth pairing with this: Historical Spots Walk, Guide Jan.
A market that simply does not charge is not the same as a market whose official page confirms it is free. The Schönbrunn Christmas Market is the clearest case: the palace event page explicitly states free entrance. The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt runs 13 November to 26 December 2026 with published hours of 10:00 to 22:00 daily and a shortened 24 December schedule until 18:30, but no official page states that entry is free. The market is on a public square, and in practice visitors walk through it without a ticket, so its entry rule remains unconfirmed.
The Eistraum ice rink sits beside the Rathausplatz market and is a separate, ticketed attraction. Skating needs a paid ticket, and the 2026/27 price list has not yet been published. The 2025/26 list showed adult tickets at EUR 10.50 and child tickets at EUR 7.40, with free entry for schools on schooldays between 10:00 and 16:00 and free skate rental for double-runner skates while stocks lasted. None of those free items is confirmed for the coming season.
| Market | Entry Rule | 2026 Dates | Confirmed By |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schönbrunn Palace | Free (stated on event page) | 6 Nov 2026 to 6 Jan 2027 | schoenbrunn.at |
| Am Hof | Unresolved | 13 Nov to 23 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Karlsplatz Art Advent | Unresolved | 13 Nov to 23 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Belvedere K&K | Unresolved | 20 Nov to 31 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Freyung (Old Viennese) | Unresolved | 14 Nov to 23 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt | Unresolved | 13 Nov to 26 Dec 2026 | christkindlmarkt.at |
| Spittelberg | Unresolved | 13 Nov to 23 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Stephansplatz Christmas Village | Unresolved | 6 Nov to 26 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Maria-Theresien-Platz | Unresolved | 20 Nov to 26 Dec 2026 | wien.info |
| Riesenradplatz Winter Market | Unresolved | 20 Nov 2026 to 6 Jan 2027 | wien.info |
The Wiener Eistraum at Rathausplatz runs in two phases: a smaller rink beside the Christkindlmarkt from 13 November 2026 to 6 January 2027, and the full expanded rink from 22 January to 7 March 2027. Both run daily from 10:00 to 22:00, with the Christkindlmarkt rink closed on 31 December and closing at 18:30 on 24 December. Skating is ticketed and the 2026/27 prices are unpublished.
Which Christmas Markets Are Worth Visiting?
Vienna's Christmas markets open from 6 November 2026, and by mid-November they are running across the city's central squares and palace forecourts. Schönbrunn Palace market is the only one confirmed free to enter on its own event page, while Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt, Am Hof, Freyung, Karlsplatz Art Advent, Belvedere K&K and Spittelberg give dates but no entry rule, and food, drink and stall goods are paid.
Schönbrunn is the earliest to open and the last to close, running from 6 November 2026 all the way to 6 January 2027. Daily hours are 10:00 to 21:00, with a shortened 24 December schedule until 16:00 and adjusted hours of 10:00 to 19:00 from 25 December onward. The palace park remains free to enter during market hours, and the walk from the park gates through the forecourt to the stalls is part of the draw. The palace interior, the Gloriette viewing terrace, the Maze, and the zoo are separately ticketed and are not part of the market visit.
Am Hof runs Monday to Thursday 11:00 to 21:00 and Friday to Sunday 10:00 to 21:00, with food stalls staying open until 22:00. Freyung, officially the Old Viennese Christmas Market, runs 14 November to 23 December 2026. The Vienna Tourist Board list gives dates for both but no entry rule, so entry is not stated for either.
A free walking tour in the afternoon is one way to see the city. The Guide Mirko walk on GuruWalk starts at Minoritenplatz. The Good Vienna Tours Classic Highlights walk on GuruWalk meets at Albertinaplatz. Neither walk lists a Christmas market as a stop. If you also want a guide, 2 Hours 15 Minutes, Guide Mirko is a free walk to pair with it.
When Do The Markets Open?
Vienna's Christmas market season opens on 6 November 2026 with the Schönbrunn market and the Stephansplatz Christmas Village. Most other markets, including Rathausplatz, Am Hof, Karlsplatz, and Spittelberg, open on 13 November 2026. The Belvedere K&K market starts on 20 November, and the Freyung market opens on 14 November. Most markets close on 23 or 26 December, with Schönbrunn and the Riesenradplatz Winter Market continuing until 6 January 2027. If you also want a guide, Top Sights, Multilingual Guide is a free walk to pair with it.
The staggered opening means a visitor arriving in the first week of November will find only two markets open. By the second weekend of November the city centre is fully in market season, and by the third week of November every market on the list above is running. The closing dates are equally staggered: Am Hof, Karlsplatz, Freyung, and Spittelberg all close on 23 December, two days before Christmas. Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz close on 26 December. Belvedere closes on 31 December. Only Schönbrunn and the Riesenradplatz Winter Market run into the new year.

Daily hours follow a consistent pattern across most markets. The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt runs 10:00 to 22:00 every day, with a shortened 24 December schedule of 10:00 to 18:30. Schönbrunn runs 10:00 to 21:00 daily, with 24 December until 16:00 and 25 December to 6 January from 10:00 to 19:00. Am Hof runs Monday to Thursday 11:00 to 21:00 and Friday to Sunday 10:00 to 21:00, with food stalls open until 22:00. Karlsplatz Art Advent typically opens around midday and closes at 20:00, with food until 21:00. Belvedere runs Monday to Friday 11:00 to 21:00, with adjusted hours on 24 and 31 December.
| Market | Opens 2026 | Closes 2026/27 | Daily Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Schönbrunn Palace | 6 Nov | 6 Jan 2027 | 10:00 to 21:00 (24 Dec until 16:00; 25 Dec to 6 Jan 10:00 to 19:00) |
| Stephansplatz Christmas Village | 6 Nov | 26 Dec | Not published on official page |
| Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt | 13 Nov | 26 Dec | 10:00 to 22:00 (24 Dec until 18:30) |
| Am Hof | 13 Nov | 23 Dec | Mon to Thu 11:00 to 21:00; Fri to Sun 10:00 to 21:00 (food until 22:00) |
| Karlsplatz Art Advent | 13 Nov | 23 Dec | Approx. 12:00 to 20:00 (food until 21:00) |
| Spittelberg | 13 Nov | 23 Dec | Mon to Fri 14:00 to 21:30; Sat to Sun 11:00 to 21:30 |
| Freyung (Old Viennese) | 14 Nov | 23 Dec | Not published on official page |
| Belvedere K&K | 20 Nov | 31 Dec | Mon to Fri 11:00 to 21:00 (24/31 Dec adjusted) |
| Maria-Theresien-Platz | 20 Nov | 26 Dec | Not published on official page |
| Riesenradplatz Winter Market | 20 Nov | 6 Jan 2027 | Not published on official page |
The Film Festival at Rathausplatz, a free open-air film screening that runs on the same square in summer, finished its 2026 season on 6 September. The 2027 dates have not been announced. The square transforms from a film venue in summer to a Christmas market and ice rink in winter, and the free-admission film festival is a separate event from the winter season.
| Market | What The Record Verifies |
|---|---|
| Schönbrunn Palace | Entry stated as free on the Schönbrunn event page; the palace, Gloriette, maze and zoo remain separately ticketed |
| Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt | Dates verified, entry rule unresolved; the Eistraum ice rink beside it is a paid ticket |
| Spittelberg | Dates verified, entry rule unresolved |
| Am Hof, Karlsplatz Art Advent, Belvedere K&K, Freyung, Stephansplatz, Maria-Theresien-Platz, Riesenradplatz | Dates on the Vienna Tourist Board list; entry rules not stated on the list |
Is The Schönbrunn Market Worth The Trip?
The Schönbrunn Christmas Market runs 6 November 2026 to 6 January 2027 on the palace forecourt, with free entrance. The palace park is free during opening hours, though the palace interior, Gloriette terrace, Maze, and zoo are separately ticketed.
The market is held on the palace forecourt and entrance is free. The park is free to enter during opening hours, and food, drink and goods at the stalls are paid.
The Gloriette viewing terrace and the Maze close for the season on 2 November 2026, so neither is open during the Christmas market run. The Palm House and Desert House are separate ticketed attractions and are not part of the market. The palace state rooms are a timed, ticketed visit and the official opening-times page does not publish a price figure, so no price is printed here. The zoo is a separate paid attraction at EUR 29 for an adult day ticket.
What Does It Cost To Eat And Drink There?
At Vienna Christmas markets, food, drink and goods at the stalls are paid, and no stall prices are published, so none are quoted. Free entry is confirmed only for the Schönbrunn Palace market; for the other markets, no official page states an entry rule, so entry is not stated.
The New Year's Eve Trail, or Silvesterpfad, runs on 31 December 2026 from 2 pm until 2 am and is free to enter, per the City of Vienna. Stages are set up at Stephansplatz, Freyung, and Graben. It is a separate event from the Christmas markets, though it overlaps with the final days of the Schönbrunn and Riesenradplatz markets.
Which Free Walk Passes The Best Markets?
No free walk includes a Christmas market as a fixed stop, but two GuruWalk tours begin at set meeting points: Guide Mirko’s 2-hour-15-minute route meets at Minoritenplatz, while the Meet the Locals Walk departs Albertinaplatz. Both are free to reserve with a pay-what-you-wish tip afterward.
The Mirko walk covers Minoritenplatz, Volksgarten, Heldenplatz, Burggarten, Albertinaplatz, and Stephansplatz U. The walk runs for 2 hours and 15 minutes in English.
The Meet the Locals Walk, rated 4.56 out of 5 across 2,189 English-language GuruWalk reviews, meets at Albertinaplatz and covers the Wiener Opernhaus, Hofburg, Stephansdom, Albertina, the Spanish Riding School, Michaelerplatz, Graben, the Austrian National Library, and Heldenplatz. The walk runs for 2 hours in English and German, and the meeting point is central. A free walk worth pairing with this: Meet The Locals Walk.

For the evening, the Evening Highlights Walk, listed on freetour.com and rated 8.5 out of 10 across 1,985 freetour.com reviews, meets at Helmut-Zilk-Platz at 7 pm in English. The walk covers the Hofburg, the Spanish Riding School, the State Opera Alley Lodge, and St. Stephen's Cathedral. Pair this with a free walk: Evening Highlights Walk.
The Historical Spots Walk, rated 4.93 out of 5 across 60 English-language GuruWalk reviews, meets at Albertina and covers Josefsplatz, Heldenplatz, Volksgarten, Minoritenplatz, and Freyung. Freyung is a stop on the walk, and the market held there is not an official stop on the tour. The Jewish Traces, Hitler's Vienna walk, rated 4.88 out of 5 across 2,513 English-language GuruWalk reviews, meets at Hoher Markt and covers Judengasse, Seitenstettengasse, Morzinplatz, the Judenplatz Holocaust Memorial, and Heldenplatz.
No walk is listed at the Schönbrunn market.
The Schönbrunn market is the one entry question with a confirmed answer: the event page states free entrance. It runs 6 November 2026 to 6 January 2027 on the palace forecourt, daily 10:00 to 21:00, until 16:00 on 24 December, and 10:00 to 19:00 from 25 December to 6 January. The park itself is free to enter during opening hours and the gates open at 6:30 am, though the palace, the Gloriette terrace, the Maze and the zoo are separately ticketed; the zoo adult day ticket costs EUR 29.
Elsewhere the entry picture is murkier. The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt runs 13 November to 26 December 2026, daily 10:00 to 22:00 and until 18:30 on 24 December, but no official page states its entry rule. The smaller Wiener Eistraum rink beside the Christkindlmarkt runs 13 November 2026 to 6 January 2027, daily 10:00 to 22:00, closed 31 December and until 18:30 on 24 December, while the full Eistraum runs 22 January to 7 March 2027. Skating is ticketed; the 2025/26 price list showed adult EUR 10.50, child EUR 7.40, senior EUR 8.50, and skate rental EUR 9.50, and 2026/27 prices are unpublished. The Vienna Tourist Board list gives 2026 dates but no entry rule for Spittelberg and Am Hof (both 13 Nov to 23 Dec), Art Advent Karlsplatz (13 Nov to 23 Dec), Belvedere K&K (20 Nov to 31 Dec), Stephansplatz Christmas Village (6 Nov to 26 Dec), Freyung Old Viennese Christmas Market (14 Nov to 23 Dec), Maria-Theresien-Platz (20 Nov to 26 Dec), and the Riesenradplatz Winter Market (20 Nov 2026 to 6 Jan 2027).
If your stay stretches into New Year's Eve, the Vienna New Year's Eve Trail (Silvesterpfad) on 31 December 2026 runs from 2 pm until 2 am, and admission is free per the City of Vienna, with stages that include Stephansplatz, Freyung, and Graben.

The Wien Museum Karlsplatz runs its free first Sunday scheme through the winter, with the next dates falling on 4 October, 1 November, and 6 December 2026. On those Sundays, all Wien Museum sites are free for everyone, including the special exhibitions at Karlsplatz. The Karlsplatz Art Advent market sits directly beside the museum, and a first-Sunday museum visit paired with the market is a full free afternoon. The permanent exhibition "Vienna. My History" at the Wien Museum Karlsplatz is free every day and needs no ticket.
Under-19s also get free entry to all Wien Museum sites at any time, not just on first Sundays.

For more on what else costs nothing in the city during the winter months, browse the full collection at Free Things To Do In Vienna. The guide to free things to do in Vienna in winter covers the parks, museums, and indoor sights that stay open through the cold months, and the Vienna on a budget guide covers transport, food, and sightseeing costs across the whole year.
Common Questions About Vienna Christmas Markets
Are Vienna Christmas Markets Free To Enter?
The Schönbrunn Palace market states free entrance on its event page. Am Hof, Karlsplatz Art Advent, Belvedere K&K, and Freyung appear on the Vienna Tourist Board's market page with dates but no entry rule. The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt's entry rule is not stated on any official page. Food, drink, and goods at the stalls are paid.
When Do The Markets Open?
The Schönbrunn market and Stephansplatz Christmas Village open on 6 November 2026. Most other markets, including Rathausplatz, Am Hof, Karlsplatz, and Spittelberg, open on 13 November 2026. The Freyung market opens on 14 November, and the Belvedere K&K market opens on 20 November. Most close on 23 or 26 December; Schönbrunn and the Riesenradplatz Winter Market run until 6 January 2027.
What Does It Cost To Eat And Drink There?
Food, drink, and goods at the stalls are paid. No stall prices are published, so none are quoted here.
Is The Schönbrunn Market Worth The Trip?
The Schönbrunn Christmas Market is worth the trip for its palace forecourt setting, free confirmed entrance, and season running 6 November 2026 to 6 January 2027. The palace park is free during opening hours.
Is The Rathausplatz Christmas Market Free?
The Rathausplatz Christkindlmarkt runs 13 November to 26 December 2026, daily 10:00 to 22:00, with a shortened 24 December schedule until 18:30. No official page states its entry rule. The Eistraum ice rink beside it is a separate, ticketed attraction with unpublished 2026/27 prices.